Thursday, April 14, 2011

Day 18 out of 90 (Yoga X)

Workout: I'll preface this and say that today, it was quite a mental workout to even to get me to do Yoga in the first place. In the end, I told myself to do the first 45 mins only and listen to music while doing it. It worked! Even better, while I was doing it, I decided to go through the full 90 mins! It was quite refreshing at the end. With my poor, bad habits in the past of skipping Yoga... I have to combat that urge hard. Afterwards, I really feel great and what's cool is that I am starting to be able to do most of the moves in the series. The one that I am particularly struggling with is half moon, moon, and near the end of the workout. The ab workout from Yoga is also pretty hardcore. Overall, I gotta give it more of an effort to do both the Yoga workout days next week during recovery week. 

Food: Ate pretty well today.  Didn't have much time to eat a full meal as I was on campus all day. Had a protein bar and a bag of cashews (yum), and planning on having a similar meal to yesterday's for dinner. Won't bother posting pics as it will look exactly the same =).

Overall feeling: Feeling great! I also am looking forward to going to Maui and getting ready to be "Beach body" ready! Also, day 30 pics will be coming up pretty soon. wow! time flies. That will be a new page, so I'll post it whenever day 30 rolls around... 

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Day 17 out of 90 (Shoulders & Arms)

Workout: Phew. I always hate the half an hour before I start the workout. For some reason, I still dread the workouts as it's a long time commitment to do the p90x routine. I just pushed through hard though. It made me feel good to see I've been making about 20% improvements on certain workouts. My arms are definitely sore but the protein shakes definitely help.

Food: Continued the healthy eating streak. Decided to finish up most of my fresh veggies and went through the asparagus saute. I made a dinner similar to yesterday's salad, but included candied pecans and raisins this time. Yum! Healthy day of eating, woo.





Overall feeling: Ready to do YogaX tomorrow.. Come on.. bring it!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Day 16 out of 90 (Plyo)

Workout: Woo, while this morning's weight results were not to my liking, it certainly showed me that I gotta be firmer with myself eating wise throughout the week. So today's workout, I pushed myself harder, doing doubles where needed and going hard on certain sections like the jump knee tuck and mary katherine lunges. I also did my workout with Yena! which was great :)

Food: Ate really well today. Had my usual double whey protein shakes throughout the day and supplemented that with lots of good veggies. I'm also going to try and be better about incorporating more fruits in my diet. Pic of what I ate for dinner tonight! Homemade chicken spinach and mixed greens salad, with asparagus stirfry in it. Yum!





Overall feeling: A lil dissapointed I failed for the 2nd week in a row for the weight monitoring, but it's ok! there's always next week.



Question to readers: What kind of workout is your favorite that you would fill 2 hours with? (specific p90x workout, or more general is fine)


My response: I would do 45 mins of plyo, then 45 mins of badminton/ping pong and then half an hour of swimming!

Monday, April 11, 2011

Day 15 out of 90 (Chest & Back)

Workout: Woo, time to get back into it. That was an okay week to transition back into the routine. While my arms were certainly feeling wasted by the end of the workout, I was pretty happy as I was improving higher reps on pullups and some pushups. Hopefully for the next week, I can keep it up. Man, it's a constant mental struggle throughout the workout to push yourself to keep "bringing it". At the end of the Chest & Back workout, I was really tempted to stop and skip ab ripper. I am glad that I decided to squelch that thought and push through. Wasn't easy but rewarding as I look back.

Food: Ate well. Finished my first tub of whey protein powder (extreme chocolate). Wow. Can't believe I finished the entire tub! I remember when I first got that earlier today. Thankfully, I prepared ahead of time and got a big bag of muscle milk whey protein (vanilla) that I started hitting. Good stuff :D delicious. I also ate my favorite salad today from Trader Joes! Didn't take any pics but will remember to do so next time.


Overall feeling: Good! Excited to weigh in tomorrow in officially to see if I lost weight.... nervous! Haha.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Day 11 out of 90 (Shoulders & Arms)

Workout: Finished today's workout well. Gotta be honest though, I had a beer or so in me while I was doing this and it was pretty hardcore. Definitely not doing p90x while im buzzed, lol. Finished up Ab Ripper X strong too. like a boss!

Food: Ate well today for the temptations that was presented to me! I went to a Thai restaurant on the ave with friends, and I stayed away from ordering too much and just had a chicken satay appetizer. While the food itself wasn't that good (chicken was pretty rubbery), I'm glad as it mostly protein. Then, I had just a guinness and a vodka sprite. So not too much damage overall for doing happy hour with friends. I also finished up my salad mix that I got from Trader Joe's with some soy stuff. Good times!





Overall feeling: Buzzed!

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Day 10 out of 90 (Plyo)

Workout: Got back into it! Brought it today with Plyo hard. I definitely pushed myself harder than normal on some of those moves and real happy about that. Overall, feeling pretty good and should be great to go for tomorrow's workout. Even though it will take me longer to finish, I really need to take those necessary breaks when my body is telling me to stop.


Food: Haha, I know you guys are probably tired of seeing the same foods over and over again but man, I really haven't gotten bored of it... yet. Ate the typical food, ranging from soy meatballs, to salad and some wings. Overall, I think I am really content eating around 1300-1600 calorie range and feeling full, while still pulling around 130g+ of protein. Also, I don't eat a lot of fish, so still trying to be good about eating my omega oil supplements + multivits. Oh and I'm also trying to be good about drinking at least 64 fl oz of water per day.








Overall feeling: Fantastic actually. I like eating healthy. When I eat like crap, I feel like crap.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Day 9 out of 90 (Rest)

Workout: So I woke up today with my calves being completely wrecked and sore. Since I had Plyo on deck today, I decided to take a rest day today to heal up. I think the back to back legs&back and chest&back routine really worked me hard and I am definitely not doing that again. So in any case, I'll be resuming my Plyo workout tomorrow. 

Food: Ate well so far. Will be updating dinner when I have it. I had a baby spring mix salad with soy meatballs and  a vegetable medley mix. I also downed that with a protein shake (for recovery) and my regular daily pills. Yum.






Overall feeling: Let's heal up and bring it tomorrow!