Thursday, March 31, 2011

Day 4 out of 90 (Shoulders & Arms)

Workout: Woo buddy. So first off, yeah, I used my skip day already for the week. Come on Matt, BRING IT! Yesterday though, I tried to do the workout and had to stop due to headaches. I rested up and brought it today. It wasn't easy but man, did I feel good at the end. Literally, when I compare the #'s of what I can do now, it amazes me. For instance, when I first started about 3 months ago, week 1: I couldn't do the bonus round that included the side tri rise routine. The following week, I could do it, but only squeezed out 4 of them on the first set and couldn't do any on the second set. Now, I can push myself all the way to the bonus round and can do approx 15 on both sets. Wow. That gives me great motivation to push myself even harder and to persist all the way through.

Food: Today was not a good day for eating, consumption wise. I only had a protein bar during lunch and that was it. I got home and needed to bust out my workout before eating. Anyway, post-workout, I prepared a great meal (or at least I think so :D). I made a salad with broccoli and cauliflower
. Usually the dressing can ruin the "goodness" of a salad, so I opted for half a tablespoon of olive oil and salt & pepper. Delicious. I couple that salad with some soy meatballs and a protein shake and I am great to go! Also, you can see in my picture below that I am beginning to make it a daily thing to take these supplements. Triple omega softgels (b/c I don't eat too much fish) and a multi-vit from Trader Joes.




Total "damage" from the meal? :) 519 calories and 54g of protein.



Overall feeling: Superb. Hope I can rest up more tonight and get to 100% by tomorrow to do Yoga. Let's do it!


Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Day 2 out of 90 (Plyo)

Workout: Workout was tiring today. Halfway through Plyo, I literally felt like I wanted to quit. Thank god Yena was behind me watching me workout! (and blogging, lol). Anyway, definitely need to rest up tonight and get more motivated for tomorrow.

Food: Had a protein bar, protein shake and then dinner arrived. Had a chicken katsu meal at Ginku's, and some ramen, miso soup, and lots of veggies.

Overall feeling: Tired! Need to rest up today. Peaceout.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Day 1 out of 90 (Chest & Back)

Workout: Workout was solid today. I am quite sore and tired from Vegas however I rallied to push through a Chest & Back and Ab Ripper workout today. I did notice that I was a lot more fatigued in my second set than normal. Hopefully this will clear up next week after I get back into the workout rhythm.

Food: For breakfast: I had a Caesar chicken wrap (thank you Yena!), protein shake for lunch snack, and cooked up a nice veggie/soy/egg plate for dinner. I absolutely LOVE the trader joe's chili sauce and started using my second bottle today =) It makes everything taste so good and it's a great way to spice up some bland tasting foods (like cauliflower). In any case, I'm full and happy.




Overall feeling: Excited. I need to keep this good workout feeling going. Spring quarter baby, let's do it!

For both my two readers: How do you feel post-Vegas and now that Spring is almost here? Any new goals before summer?

Quest attempt #2: FAIL

As the title reads: FAIL!

Haha, while that is over dramatic, I am disappointed to classify my second attempt as a fail for finishing all three phases of P90x.

To recap, my first attempt was during the summer of 2010, where I completed around 30~ days, and my second attempt started in early January 2011 (this blog).

Sure, I am disappointed that I wasn't able to complete this entire series. You may be asking "What happened that even you would consider this a fail? Why not just pickup where you left off?".

The simple answer is that I want to do this right. I learned that when I give myself too much slack, my discipline wavers, indulgence takes place and I lose sight of my goal. I "sinned" too much in Sin City (vegas) this past week, and ultimately, eating junk food (5 burgers, pizza, fries, ), not working out for a week, and consuming far too much alcohol... I can't look at the results at the end of the 90 days and attribute it to a successful p90x routine.

Anyhoo, to make this short, I wouldn't classify it as a waste of my time, as I started to wonder "why did I fail again?". And now I re-tell a standout quote from a movie I just recently saw: (Adjustment Bureau)


"But we had a rule in my neighborhood, when you got in a fight, it wasn't whether or not you got knocked down. It's what you do when you get back up."

I am doing P90X AGAIN! Starting today. I will try my hardest at completing my new year's resolution: Finishing all THREE phases of P90X in 2011. What I learned is that I am following the workout schedules, tips, and nutrition plan to a T and as strict as possible. I have to learn not to allow myself to cut corners here and there. I was far too lenient in my 2nd P90x attempt and gave in too many times to temptation.

I will be tracking reps and progress in an excel sheet that will be downloadable on this blog. I will do my best at posting status updates on this blog in a concise fashion. I am tracking what I eat using MyPlate on LiveStrong. I will post 0-30-60-90 day pictures on this blog as well as weekly number tracks of my weight and BF%. Sure, it's a little embarrassing, but you two are two of my most trusted people I know and I need to be help accountable =).
Let's do this, let's get fit by June 26, 2011 (91 day mark).

Thank YOU for your continued support.